Dramas · Korean Dramas

Love Rain

I feel this drama was very hyped about when it first released back in 2012. But being the rebel that I am, I decided to watch it five years later (really mainly because it was on Netflix, not because I’m a rebel, lol). This story starts circa 1970’s where an art student Seo In Ha (Jang Geun Suk) and economic studies student Kim Yoon Hee (Im Yoona) fall in love during their university years. But what happens when fate keeps tearing the young couple apart? Also, what should happen when In Ha and Yoon Hee reunite 30 years later, but their son, Seo Joon (Jang Geun Suk) and daughter Kim Ha Na (Im Yoona) fall in love as well?

Right off the bat, I need to clarify that this drama is a romantic melodrama with the occasional sprinkle of romantic comedy. It falls on the more lighthearted spectrum of melodramas but there is at least one heartbreak or illness-related incident per episode, so there’s that.

 

I’m going to be extremely honest: this drama got boring less than halfway through. The drama started out very promising and I was hooked! I loved the pure, first love story-line and the 70’s fashion (so classic!).

 

Even the present day story-line was enjoyable because of the the banters and situations that Seo Joon and Ha Na got into in the early stages of their relationship.

 

But once the connections between In Ha/Yoon Hee and Seo Joon/Ha Na became complex, the plot went downhill. The drama went round and round the same issues for what seemed like forever and then wrapped up very quickly. Granted, it had a cute ending but I felt that there were many loose ends and I didn’t get the closure that I wanted.

On a side note, I do applaud Jang Geun Seuk, Yoona, Kim Shi Hoo and Seo In Guk for portraying characters in both time periods of the drama. That is no easy feat but they pulled it off splendidly.

Overall, this drama was…okay. It could have been so much better if it had been condensed to 16 episodes and had more plot development. The wonderful parts of this drama were overshadowed by the fact that the story line went bleak and left much to be desired.

On a positive note, I had never seen Kim Shi Hoo in a drama before (Yoo Seung Ho, is that you??). I was pleasantly surprised by his character Lee Sun Ho in this drama (he was such a sweetheart!) and I hope to see him in another drama in the near future!

 

Leave a Reply

